Employee Highlight > Employee Highlight: Matt Brostek

Matt Brostek

Solutions Architect

What is your favorite sport?

At this point in my life, my favorite sport to play is golf, but it can be difficult to find the time to play. As a kid I played a lot of sports with my friends such as football, basketball, baseball, racquetball, and I played recreational soccer for many years. Nowadays I also like playing tennis, and I might take up pickleball. I like watching many sports—mostly college and professional football, hockey, soccer, and baseball. Since I am a Washington, D.C. area native, all my favorite teams are in Washington. Go Caps, Nats, Wizards, United, and of course the Washington Football Team!

If you could go to any time period, what time would you pick and why?

There are many time periods I would like to visit, but if I could only pick one, I would probably choose sometime about 100 years into the future. I would like to see what advances humankind has made in 100 years—maybe having colonies on the moon or even on Mars. I’d want to see what amazing new advances in technology and medicine we have accomplished. Who knows, maybe we’ve even developed a flying car! I would also look up my descendants and see what they are doing with their lives.

What places have you lived in?

I’ve only lived in a few places, all of them in Virginia. I grew up in Prince William County, VA—ten years in one house, eight years in another. Then I lived in Blacksburg, VA for four years while attending Virginia Tech. After college, I moved to Alexandria, VA for about six months, and then moved to an apartment in Stafford for about four months while waiting for the house that I had just purchased to be built. Nineteen years later, I still live in that house with my wife and two kids, who are 14 and 9 years old.

What kind of music do you listen to?

I listen to a wide range of music: classical, bluegrass, rock, metal, alternative, hip-hop, rap, 80’s, 90’s, and even some country, if the song is right. If I hear something I enjoy in a movie or TV show, I like to look it up and create a station from it in Pandora or Spotify to find a new type of music to listen to. However, my go-to music is probably alt-rock from my college years in the mid-90’s.

What is one of your favorite childhood memories?

I have many to choose from, but some of my favorite memories are from visiting my grandparents’ farm in Ohio. They had over 100 acres of land that included a forested area with a creek that I used to love exploring. We would run around in the corn fields, play with the cats that lived around the barn, and ride on the tractors with my grandpa. Often my cousins would visit at the same time so we would play baseball, croquet, hide-and-seek, or some other outdoor game. I also remember eating fresh-picked corn-on-the-cob for dinner and the homemade pies my grandma made from blueberries or rhubarb picked on the farm.

How has Synergy helped you in your career development?

I started working for Synergy in October 2020, after working for very large companies for my entire career. With Synergy, I have a fantastic opportunity to develop my leadership and technical skills in my current position as a Solutions Architect at the Department of Labor. I look forward to working with the many talented people here and to working on new opportunities since Synergy is growing quickly as we win new business.